7 Chakras for Your Development

A chakra, literally meaning wheel, is an energy center in the body in which certain characteristics are present. The chakras are seven in number, each associated with a certain level of development in the human being.

The chakras are both a theoretical representation of self-development and a set of colored shapes that you can internally witness during states of advanced meditation.

Ordered much like a hierarchy of needs, the lower chakras correspond to more basic and practical traits and motivations whereas the upper chakras correspond to the more complex and sophisticated traits and motivations.

The levels of the chakras proceed in this order:

1. The muladhara chakra

The muladhara chakra, also referred to as the root chakra or red chakra, associates with instinct, security, survival, violence, sexuality, sensuality, and stability.

2. The svadhishthana chakra

The svadhishthana chakra, also referred to as the sacral chakra or orange chakra, associates with relationships, pleasure, basic emotional needs, enthusiasm, and joy.

3. The manipura chakra

The manipura chakra, also referred to as the navel chakra or yellow chakra, associates with personal power, fear, anxiety, opinion formation, and growth.

4. The anahata chakra

The anahata chakra, also referred to as the heart chakra or green chakra, associates with complex emotions, compassion, tenderness, unconditional love, and wellbeing.

5. The vishuddha chakra

The vishuddha chakra, also referred to as the throat chakra or blue chakra, associates with growth, expression, communication, and independence.

6. The ajna chakra

The ajna chakra, also referred to as the third eye or indigo chakra, associates with intuition and vision.

7. The sahasrara chakra

The sahasrara chakra, also referred to as the crown chakra or purple chakra, associates with pure awareness, wisdom, beingness, and the highest states of meditation.